Making change

One night, many years ago, out back in my yard on Herron Island, I am out separating my garbage for recycling and I am burning the paper and cardboard in a 55 gallon drum set up to burn garbage.

As I looked up at the sky, I realized that I was doing exactly what my father did when I was a small boy. I was doing a learned behavior without realizing that it was a learned behavior. It was a great epiphany to recognize that behavior as it was not obvious to me that I was doing anything, except sorting the house garbage…..exactly as my father did it!  I went inside and made a decision that it was time to move on and change my behaviors. I put my main house up for sale, bought a small recreational cabin to store my stuff and went back to college for a while and reviewed the doctoral program in Neuroscience. Although I did not accept the position the University offered me there, it was a grand experience in making change and following through on an idea.

About Rudolph V Kolar

Consciousness Researcher, Instructor stress management, English, and Yoga.
This entry was posted in Facebook, Science of Reality, self improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.